...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Maybe I Was Supposed To Miss It

July 03, 2004 ... 9:45 p.m.

Philosophy Prof: �But, of course, ethical egoism would never work.�
Eibisch: �Why not?�
Prof: �Can you imagine everyone doing whatever they want and justifying it by saying it�s good for them?�
Eibisch: �How about just me then?�


Took my final in Philosophy. I missed 5. All on one question. We had 10 short answer identifications. She wrote them on the board. I wrote them on my paper. Tralala tralala. 1234678910. I, being the brain trust that I am, forgot #5.

Baron D�Holbach. He said everything we do is predestined. Which brings up the moral responsibility. But whatever, because now I hate him.

I scored big on my essay, though. It was about utilitarianism, which I rock at. Because, of course, utilitarianism goes against all I stand for. Namely: Me. And my being the all-important center of the universe.

So part of the essay question was:
What would an Act-Utilitarian do in the following scenario? What would you do ?
A terrorist group that has already kidnapped your mother (ha. my mom would so kick their asses) also kidnaps you. They had planned to ransom you after bombing a village of 5,000 people. But they have taken an immediate dislike to you and your mother. They offer this compromise, they will not bomb the village if you torture your mother to death on their medieval rack. The bomb will obliterate all 5,000 villagers.

I wrote: �A true utilitarian sacrifices their mother. I, being more of an ethical egoist, would notice that the terrorists did NOT offer to free me once I had spared the village and killed my mother. In fact, since they dislike me so, they would most likely pop me up on the rack next. And that would not do at all. For the sake of argument, say the terrorists did agree to free me once my mother is dead or both of us after the village is gone. I�m still not taking these pillars of virtue at their word--they have threatened to decimate an entire village, want me to torture my own mother to death and have already kidnapped two people. No, I don�t think so. I�m going with the option that makes a positive outcome for me (both free) even the slightest bit more likely--bomb away, dudes.�

Thanks for reading that all. Man--I am not sleeping the night before a final again! Because, see, even if I had failed--I wouldn�t have cared!


We�re having a pool party for the fourth. Yay! More sunburn! I am already so lobster red, it�s not even funny. Okay, really? Very funny. I fell asleep in the pool Friday. I was just floating on this inner tube that looks like a radial (aren�t they clever?) and the construction guys next door were blasting 80�s music ... I just drifted off to the strains of �Loverboy�.

Geez. I loves me some Billy Ocean. Oh, shut it. You know you bop along to �Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car.�

Hey! (Hey!)
You! (You!)
Get into my car!
Who me? (Yes you!)
Get into my car!

Cram it. You do so.

So I am burnt. But I love the pool. I hate sunscreen--it either gets slimy or washes off immediately. But I love the pool. Skin cancer be damned!

We�re supposed to get a really kick-ass fireworks display, too. We�ll see.


Okay, so is everyone tuning in to their radios Tuesday to hear Elvis� �That�s All Right, Mama�?

DO IT!

He is The King! You like Country music? He�s in the Country Music Hall of Fame. You like hip hop/ r & b and think he stole it? Fine. Whatever. Go back to 1954 and see if it would have been played without Elvis. You like punk? Hey, at the time, Elvis was as punk as they came.

Fifty years. Wow.


In other news ... Marlon is dead. Sigh. I was so in love with him in On The Waterfront and Guys and Dolls. And I found him terribly exciting and attractive in A Streetcar Named Desire, even though I shouldn�t have.

He was gorgeous. He was sexy as hell. He was an amazing actor.

Sigh.



Currently Reading: The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

Listening To: Selena Greatest Hits
...Aqu� s�lo importa nuestro amor...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent