...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Calm Before The Storm

June 04, 2004 ... 10:03 p.m.

Mom: �Why do you not sleep? Do you need some melatonin? Some warm milk? Perhaps a lobotomy?�


Mom, Bootsie and I saw �Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban� today.

Hi. My name is Eibisch and I�m addicted to Harry Potter.

To avoid any spoilage, I will only say this: color me disappointed.

THE PATRONUS! You MUST explain the patronus!! It is vital! VITAL!! PRONGS!! COME ON!!

I did not find the movie particularly edgy or dark or whatever. It was definitely funnier, though. But the ending? Blech. Way too much was cut out, so many things were not explained. I only hope they were cutting corners on Azkaban to start on Goblet of Fire as soon as possible and do that one proper justice.

I am not saying don�t see it--go. But I think this was the weakest of the three movies out now and it was the strongest of the first three books. So I was disappointed, but that�s just me.

Anyway, Bootsie and I went to stand in line for tickets at 10:00am and we were about 40th in line. The first shows sold out, the earliest (1:30pm) was full from online buyers. I didn�t even think of that. D�oh. We bought two tix to the 4:30 show, picked up some tacos and went home. During lunch we managed to convince Mom to come. So Bootsie went back to the theatre to either buy another 4:30 or exchange the two we had and go to a later show. Unfortunately, all of the showings for today were sold out. But Bootsie has connections. The theatre manager--Jer--and told him the situation. Jer said it wasn�t a problem and asked her if we wanted to go to the (long since sold out) 1:30 showing. Hmm. Bootsie called on her cell at 12:39...

Bootsie *yelling*: �Do you want the 1:30?�
Mom: �What?�
Bootsie *louder*: �The 1:30! Yes? No? 1:30! 1:30? Yes? 1:30!�
Mom: �What?�
Bootsie *screaming (as Mom still has phone)*: �EIBISCH!! 1:30???�
Me: �On our way!�

So we get seats at the 1:30. Adore Jer. Adore him. Not just for this--he�s a good guy. But he always lets us in free and gives us free soda and popcorn. Or, in my case, free Twizzlers. So, he has a lot of brownie points.

I managed to drop my soda and it splattered everywhere. *VAGUE SPOILAGE* I jumped when Harry looked under his bed. *END VAGUE SPOILAGE* I knew it was coming. too, but ... Coke everywhere.

Sorry, Jer.


My pal, Artie, is in the Navy (woo!) and he�s getting stationed on a base near Seattle. He�s been in the Navy for, I think, 11 years. He was promoted. He had been mostly in submarines and he�s not so sure about this whole �base thing�.

His sister, Sunny, is also in the Navy and is stationed in Memphis.

Yes, when I think �Navy� I think �Memphis�. It�s right up there with �Des Moines�.

Their parents and my mom are good friends. So Mom and I are going to go see them and I am going to sh-bop on over to the Seattle area and see Artie, in a couple of weeks.


I�m having a hard time writing my obituary. I don�t know what to die from, I don�t know if I should include my father, etcetera, etcetera. If it were supposed to be funny, I could do it in a snap. But we are to write this so that our families could actually submit it to the newspaper, were we to die shortly. I don�t have a problem with the topic so much as the details. Like we even have to do service times and details. Look ... cremate me and scatter my ashes in Hawaii. Or Fiji. Or the backyard. I�m pretty sure I won�t care. I�m pretty sure I won�t care if you roast my body on a spit, let alone what my obituary write up has to say.

And, really, you�d think it wouldn�t be this difficult. Perhaps I am just procrastinating in order to put off reading Camus a bit longer. Camus. Gah.

In other reading news--I am absolutely enthralled by the Thursday Next series. So very interesting. The premises are hard to explain, but go read the descriptions yourself.


I start my �Judaism, Christianity & Islam� class Monday. It�s 10 minutes after Philosophy and directly across the hall. Good scheduling, thank you very much. That way, after the sing-song lilt of my British professor�s voice lulls me to sleep, I can just crawl to my next class. She really has a soothing voice and she is always so calm. Except last class, when we were discussing geishas, Catholicism and she got a little excited explaining how men really are evil. Yay! I like my teacher!

I know my JC&I prof--and I wish I could tell you his name, because it is so weird. But it�s also crazy rare and I can�t have the man Googling himself.

I�m going to have to make some flashcards tomorrow to help me keep all the Philosophers I must read, and their arguments, straight.


Family reunion: 1 week from tomorrow. It�ll be fun, though. New babies! Yay! And one of my cousins is pregnant. And my grandma is doing really, really well. Except for the wedding, everything is good.



Currently Reading: Lost In A Good Book by Jasper Fforde

Listening To: RCB
...I got no clothes, no candy treats, I'll be damned if I am the candy man, but my baby got me diamond rings...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent