...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Mmm ... Latkes

April 03, 2004 ... 6:20 p.m.

Bootsie: �Hurry up! Mom needs a grandchild!�
Eibisch: �If I wanted something that financially and emotionally draining, I�d get a boyfriend.�


I have been commanded--by my Godmother, no less--to not see �The Passion of the Christ�.

So, naturally, I went and saw it this afternoon.

Because I am a rebel. Also, because Jim Caviezal is in a loincloth.

Yep. It was bloody, gory, ghastly ... whatever adjective you wish to use, but I think it was probably pretty close to the real crucifixion.

Oddly, I don�t hate Jews. From reviews, I thought I might leave the theatre wanting to firebomb Temple Judah. But I don�t. Not even a little.

Plus, Temple Judah always has a Seder feast that they invite people of different faiths to. And I like latkes.

Besides, Jesus had to die in a terribly brutal fashion. Sins of the people ... resurrection ... and all that, right? I just don�t think resurrection after peanut butter-induced anaphylaxsis would have the desired effect. And [*gasp*] the movie is bloody and violent and yadda yadda. People! It is NOT a Calgon commercial--it�s a crucifixion!

I just thought of some mafia movie where a character was named �Croccifixio� and he was called �Cross�. Does anyone else know that movie? Was it the one with all the chicks and one has a son, but he doesn�t know she�s his mom and he kills her twin sons and then she kills him back? And Jennifer Tilly is in it? Or the one with Eric Roberts and Jo-from-Facts-Of-Life? I think Joe Mantegna was in it. But, then, he�s in every mafia movie, isn�t he? And why not? He�s Fat Tony!!! I watch way too many mob stories. But �Croccifixio� is a cool name. Perhaps I will use it on a goldfish.

P.S. If you left �The Passion� hating Jews, you went in hating Jews and you should not be wasting money on a movie when there is perfectly good therapy available.


My 2nd cousin sent us a birth announcement for his little girl. Hayley. She�s adorable.

My sister picked up a bunch of kids� books from a library sale. She got �Goodnight Moon� because she remembered me talking about it. And the inside cover says �From Grandma M�. �M� being my mom�s real name. I thought it was funny. My mom, on the other hand, is almost suicidaly depressed over the fact that she has no grandchildren.

And it ain�t looking good for the future. My sister? NOT a kid person. Oh, she�s very good with most children, but that�s with kids she can play with and return. Me? I am currently alternating between wanting a couple of kids and wanting none. And never getting married.

My sister (who is a wedding planner) is absolutely horrified by that possibility. If I don�t get married--*gasp*--what happens to all her plans?? She has my wedding all planned out and now she�s skittering around like Gollum and hissing about �... my plans ... precious plans ... she must marry ...� Blah blah blah.


Spent much of the day stripping the wallpaper in the dining room/kitchen. Even with the walls an uneven white and wallpaper glue all over, it still manages to look nicer than the paper.

I�m going to try and put p some photos Monday.


Saturday 8 :: Tigers and Lions and Bears, oh my!

1. I just purchased a new pet - a seal point Siamese kitty. Are you a 'cat person'? Why or why not?
Definitely. Not to the point that I hate dogs or anything--I really like almost all animals. I just think I�ve always had a cat and, I guess, I am used to their personalities and quirks.

2. What is your favorite kind of pet to have, or your dream pet? Cat, dog, hamster, horse, tiger, dolphin, etc.?
I love my cat. He turned 20 on April 1, he�s pretty much my favorite by default. I wouldn�t mind an Akita or Cocker Spaniel, though

3. Do you currently own any pets? If so, please tell us what they are & their names. If not, tell us why you don't own a pet.
The very idea of me owning the cat is so offensive. I kid but, if he could read, he would slap me for answering. Tinker Allen (Yes, my cat has a middle name. Shut up! I have no kids--have you never seen the title of this diary?) is an orange tabby and he is 20 years old.

4. I am thinking about naming my baby kitten 'Jimmy Wah' after the gay bar owner in the movie "Good Morning, Vietnam." My kids HATE this, but I thought it was cute to have a kitty named Jimmy. What is the COOLEST name you've ever heard for a pet?
I don�t know. �Cool� is awfully subjective. My neighbors had a dog named �Mozart� and my friend has four Rottweilers named Zeus, Cain, Dion and Fifi. I think a Rottweiler named Fifi is kinda cool.

5. My STBX takes his dog to a dog park, where there is a dog named "DOG" (pronounced "dee-oh-gee"). Everyone and their dog makes fun of this guy. What is the most idiotic name you've ever heard for a pet?
My cat is named Tinker, my mom had a dog named �Mike�--we�re not a creative people. My cousin, though, has a cat named �Sunshine�--I hate that name.

6. Ok - seal point Siamese kitten. do you have an idea for a name for me, or should i stick with 'Jimmy Wah'? (I also have a turtle named "Suzi Wong," btw)
Go for it. I wanted to name Tinker �Speed Buggy� and call him �Bug� for short. Of course, I was only seven. And I was shot down.

7. My almost-ex wanted a boxer dog SO badly, and I gave in and we purchased one. The dog hates me and is afraid of me because it knows I cannot stand it. Would you get a dog/pet just to please your mate?
My mate? *Insert snort of derision* I probably would, though. Provided he doesn�t take up beekeeping.

8. Would you ever consider owning a 'different' pet, like a tiger or an alligator or some weird flying monkey? Why or why not?
Well, certain �exotics� yes. Snakes, rats ... I�ve always wanted a prairie dog



Currently Reading: Acts Of God (Book Three of the Christ Clone Trilogy) by James BeauSeigneur

Listening To: Plain White T�s
...I'm feeling sick of feeling sorry for myself, Cuz I know I don't belong...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent