...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

"Ennui" Sounds Nicer

March 24, 2004 ... 11:21 p.m.

[watching tv]
Eibisch: �There�s Mom�s favorite�
Bootsie: �The pope?�
Eibisch: �That�s George Harrison!�


I took a quiz called "What Evanescence Song Are You?" or something similar. Turns out I'm "Solitude".

I ... wow ... really?

Solitude?

That is so depressing. I'm not depressed. I'm not obsessed. At least, I don't think I am. But how can I argue with a test probably written by an angsty prepubescent?


So, I�m getting a little apathetic about journaling. I don�t have an interesting life and I don�t have a comedic voice (see: Weetabix)with which to write. I don�t know--maybe I�ll start a new diary here at Diaryland. Or maybe I�ll finally get my own website, that I�ve been thinking about for a while now. Or maybe I�ll just snap out of this mini-funk or whatever it is.


Our new range came today. It�s pretty cool. Smooth top, front controls and all computerized. It has a clock/timer on it that is so bright we don�t need to leave a light on.

Hey! This house is really dark at night. I know �night - dark�, but it�s built funny and light from windows usually stays in one room and doesn�t even creep into a hallway. That�s why I have a night light in my bathroom. And one in my bedroom.

Because the house is dark. Not because I�m afraid of the dark. Which I�m not. Afraid of it, I mean. I don�t like it. But I�m not scared of it.

ANYway, I spent all day polishing my mom�s brass knick-knacks. Oy. Headache. I used this stuff called �Brasso� and, cripes, does that stuff stink. Just a whiff of it and I am immediately transported back to high school band class. I played French Horn and sat in front of or next to the stupid damn air hogs trumpets. Brass to the right of me, brass to the left ... and, if you�ve played a brass instrument, you�ll remember that smell of damp brass while you emptied your spit valve or oiled your valves. I think Brasso is more of a spit valve scent, as valve oil is pretty discernible.

Now y�all think I�m certifiable, don�t you? Well, go ahead and ask someone who played a brass instrument.


Got my invitation to Cousin#1�s wedding. It was thoughtfully addressed to �Aunt M� on the outer envelope and �Aunt M & family� on the inner. There was an RSVP card, too. Okay, first? I understand saving money by sending one invite, but is it too much to ask for �Aunt M, Eibisch, Bootsie & Guests�? A little acknowledgement?

Secondly, the RSVP envelope didn�t have a stamp. That�s just a breach of etiquette. But, whatever. Why do they even need an RSVP? It�s not a sit-down dinner. It�s an indoor picnic. It�s potato salad, potato chips and ham sandwiches. And cupcakes. I mean, fine. I�ll RSVP. But it shall be under protest, as I feel it is a ridiculous and lame attempt at sophistication that actually comes across as tackiness.

But, you know, whatever.


In other boring news, our entryway is painted forest green. All the switchplates and outlet covers are brass. The floor is wood, but in front of the main door and garage door are burgundy carpet mat thingys and (from the main door) we have a carpet runner that is off white with green and burgundy flowers. Or vines. It�s quite pretty. I�ll try to get the before/after photos up tomorrow. But Illinois plays Duke and March Madness and it�s all very time consuming.


Robin is coming over this weekend. She is bringing her new boyfriend. They�ve been dating for a few months, but I have yet to meet the elusive Eric. Robin and I have been friends since we were 12 and we are good friends. We have one of those friendships where we can go weeks, sometimes months, without contact and pick up right where we left off with no hard feelings. And we�ve never really argued. In 15 years! Oh, we�ve had minor disagreements--but never anything major.

Anyway, I�ll meet Eric this weekend. He sounds like he�s �The One�, too. I�m a wee bit jealous, but I have plans.

Fabulous Summer plans! My plans always fail! But I�ve made them, nonetheless!



Currently Reading: Birth Of An Age (Book Two of the Christ Clone Trilogy) by James BeauSeigneur

Listening To: Hurry Up & Wait by Riddlin� Kids
...I have all but lost my faith that true love could be...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent