...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

I Am Just Going To Stop Having Birthdays

March 05, 2004 ... 2:59 p.m.

Bootsie: �Ugh, I just heard Jessica Simpson�s version of �Take My Breath Away�.�
Eibisch: �Killed it, did she?�
Bootsie: �Yes. And she�s torturing it in the afterlife!�


So. Tuesday was my birthday. I�m 27. In less than three years, I will be 30. Less than three years.

This was probably the toughest birthday I�ve ever had. And I am including my 16th--when everybody forgot. It wasn�t about the looming 3-0, either.

I woke up to a gray and rainy day. Just gray. And rainy. No thunder, no lightening ... just blah. And we all know how much I enjoy the absence of sun. But, you know, whatever. I suck it up--it�s my birthday!

And, by the way? I�d like to thank all of you who emailed me and left notes in my guest book. Yes, I would like to thank you--alas, I cannot. Because NOBODY did! Man, that is the last time I acknowledge anything outside the realm of ME without some quid pro quo.

Anyway, I go about my day. Go to the lab to get blood drawn. Yay. I LOVE needles! So, the nurse/whatever punctures my arm, but apparently my vein has had enough and didn�t feel like sharing. When I was hospitalized in November, they took blood from my right arm no less than twice a day for three days and then *boom* it just stopped. So, they�ve been tapping my left arm ever since. No dice on Tuesday. So she tried the right arm. Not happening. Ended up drill into my arm about 3 inches down from my elbow. I still have a bruise.

Happy birthday to me!

That afternoon, we all go out for my birthday dinner. I wanted Mexican. I wanted Carlos O�Kelly�s. We went to Fazoli�s. I ended up having baked chicken marinara or something. A glob of overcooked meat product on top of undercooked spaghetti, topped with pizza sauce. Mmm. Then my grandparent�s gave me $20. Yay! I like cash!

Mom, Bootsie and I went home and they gave me some gifts. My sister gave me a slew of bath products and my mom gave me a clock. It was an Elvis wall clock and it had a blue neon ring around it, but it was broken. And it was the last one in the store.

Happy birthday to me!

So, we moved on to the cake. My favorite cake? Lemon. But I was out-voted and a double-layer chocolate fudge confection was prepared. It was set before me, candles ablaze, I made a wish and was just about to blow out the candles when ... *DING-DONG* ... Mom is served with the papers granting her termination of parental rights (i.e. adoption disruption).

Happy birthday, Eibisch--you no longer have a brother.

I knew it was coming, but a little part of me kinda hoped against it. I held it together, but I went to bed early and cried. I cried so much my head hurt. Then I got up and put all of his photos, drawings and everything else he�d given me into a box. I don�t know what to do with it, though. Part of me wants to just throw it away and be done with it all--a clean break. I don�t think it would ever work, though. And the other part of me wants to stash the box in my closet and just keep it as �mine�. Just for me. I don�t know.


Friday Five

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name?
Mrs. Jane Knapp. And I do not know why I remember her first name. I liked her a lot. She let me read almost whenever I wanted.

2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon?
Smurfs, Snorks, Care Bears, Jabber Jaw, GI Joe and JEM--I LOVED JEM! But, my favorite Saturday morning show wasn�t actually a cartoon--it was �Land of the Lost�. With the awful claymation dinosaurs and the sleastacks (however it is spelled)? I am insane when it comes to dinosaurs. Jurassic Park 4 is supposed to come out Summer 2005 and I am keeping my calendar clear until I know the exact date.

3. ...the name of your very first best friend?
Jeremy.

4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal?
Body Buddies.

5. ...your favorite thing to do after school?
I watched Scooby-Doo and then went outside. I used Scooby-Doo as a stopwatch--my friends, Jeremy and Robbie, were never home to play until Scooby was over.


Currently Reading: Ship Of Gold In The Deep Blue Sea by Gary Kinder

Listening To: DISCO, baby, YEAH
...Oh baby please, please don't leave me this way...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent