...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

I Should Start A Band

September 26, 2003 ... 10:19 a.m.

[watching �Newlyweds: Nick & Jessica�]
Pinball: �So, wait...IS tuna chicken?�


I spent 35 minutes on one math problem yesterday. Any way you look at that, it just sucks.

(Intro to)Chemistry. I had four pages of problems to do for the class! And Chemistry Lab homework was four flipping pages, too. It�s confusing because Chem Lab is way ahead of Chem class. Back and forth, back and forth. But I�m calm. I�m cool. I can handle it. Rather, I will handle it.

Once I�m done sobbing like a baby into a pillow while crumbled in a hysterical mess in the middle of my bedroom floor.

See? Calm, cool, collected. Eh. Whatever.


And it�s cold now. I have to shut my windows at night. My fruity summer pjs are packed away. Sigh.

I shake my fist at you, Mother Nature!

Confound it! But I guess the tradeoff is...well...acceptable.

Cold weather...football...
No sun...Robert Gallery...
Snow...basketball...
March...birthday...NCAA Tournament...

Mother Nature is still not one of my friends.


First Weetabix and her �Operation Hottie�... now Chauffi and his �Gap-size-large�.

He�s gonna get all hot and then where does that leave me? Hmm? He�ll be all gorgeous and have no time for me.

Not that he does now or anything. I'm just saying. Where was I going with this? I don�t remember. Maybe next term there will be some hotties in my Physics I class. When do they go to class? They�re like some strange, rarely sighted, alien sub-culture at Kirkwood.

But, you know me--zen master of horrific scheduling.

And I�m still having no luck with getting Jade Puget to sign up for classes. I mean, seriously! What is with the universe and it�s scheming to torture me?


I had to help CC (Chem Class) Brandon and CC Karen with the naming of ions and multivalents, formulas, etcetera. Yeah, Chem-Speak--fuhgeddaboutit. Anyway, I�m very good at this part of Chemistry and, as I was working with them, Susie! came in and told me I should be a teacher.

You know, I get that ALL the time. From everyone! Homeschool my brother...Eibisch, you should teach! Help classmates...Eibisch you should teach!

What in my lazy, lazy nature makes people believe I want that responsibility?

Ah, but then we had our first Chem exam. There was no ion naming or formula writing. There were, however, many conversions. Many, many, many conversions. Eibisch? She hates the conversions. I am so, so bad at them. We were given 1 hour for the exam.

I spent almost half of that on a problem that went like this-- �You are traveling to Chicago at 60 miles per hour. You see a sign that says 124 Kilometers to Chicago. How many seconds until you reach your destination?�

WHAT?!?!

First of all, if you see a sign that says X-amount of kilometers to anywhere, especially Chicago, you're gonna have a few more problems than figuring out how many seconds before you get there. In fact, you've most likely stumbled into some kind of Children of the Corn/Lottery town and, instead of doing math, you should probably just get the hell out of there.

I scribbled furiously for 30 minutes and then I just said it equaled 15. It didn't, but whatever.

So, maybe teaching is not such a bad career goal.

And THEN? The conversions/math I can handle? Susie! makes us show our work or it�s wrong! The hell? I HATE that. I get the correct answer, but neglect to show my work and I get it counted as wrong. I get an incorrect answer, but show some chicken scratch and I get credit.

That ain�t right. Seriously! I got the right answer! Obviously, I know how to do the problem. Or have my own system to do the problem. Either way, I get the right answer! But I get less credit than CC Eric who only shows up once every other week? AAAaaarrgh!

And then electrons and shells? Straught People Dance Funny. That�s how I remember how the shells go. SPDF. See? Each shell can only contain a certain number of electrons, okay? Only the shells are screwy. They go 1S, 2S, 2P, 3S, 3P, 3D, 4S, 4P, 4D, 4F, 5S, 5P, 5D, 6S... Did you catch that? 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, No 5F?!?!?! And they hold 1, 2, 6, 10 and 14 electrons? NO! No, Niels Bohr! That is not how we count! 1-2-3-4-5 and so on. We do not place numbers willy-nilly at our whim! I cannot just decide that, from now on, the Alphabet goes A-B-C-F-Q-D-O, now can I? And cause future generations all kinds of grief because the Alphabet they learned form Sesame Street or Mr. Rogers ::pause for wistful remembrance:: was wrong and for the rest of their lives must adhere to the Eibisch Alphabet? No I cannot do that! We didn�t bow to the metric system (which would have rendered conversions mostly unnecessary...DAMN!), I�ll not bow to your ass-crazy system of counting. So there! Who amongst you will join me? Anarchy!


On a positive and somewhat saner and more interesting note, I talked to a guy who used to be in a couple of bands I adore and is now doing the solo thing--and he is coming to play in Iowa City in November. He�s from California and is hoping to miss the snow and super cold.

I mocked him. It�ll either be sunny and unseasonably warm or white-out blizzard conditions when he�s here. Should the latter be the case, I may be tempted to stow away in his trunk. California...ahhh...only a hop, skip and jump from Hawaii!

So, football game tomorrow, it's in East Lansing but I�m going to Iowa City anyway so I can go to Gabe�s. There�s going to be some bands there and Swizzle Tree is having a cd release party. I went to Gabe�s a couple of weeks ago to see Hey Mercedes. There were some other groups there, but I really went for them. And there was a dance party afterwards, which was probably fun. But, you know, I�m lazy. So to home went I.


Well, I�m off. Chemistry and Int. Algebra call. And, much like sailors who followed the call of sirens, I shall be dashed upon the rocks until my head explodes.


Currently Reading: Le Mariage by Diane Johnson

Listening To: Riddlin� Kids
...because you�re mean and I never liked you anyway...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent