...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Stalling

April 12, 2003 ... 7:57 p.m.

Stalling

[as the Naked Cowboy walks onstage during CMT�s Flameworthy Music Awards]
Le Prince: �Oh my holy God!�


Cousin#3 stopped by today. To talk to Mom about our grandparents� house. She and her husband are buying it. She is such a copycat. I have always said I was going to buy their house. I�m not because of my whole unemployment thing. Also, it would mean staying in Iowa. Okay so that is like, you know, whatever. (Once again, the eloquence of Eibisch dazzles.) But a couple of months ago I mentioned, at a family dinner, that I was thinking of getting my hair cut. The next time I see her, she has my haircut. A couple of weeks ago, she asked my grandpa if she could have his collection of leprechaun music boxes (they�re empty Jim Beam collectible decanters). Whoa, Nelly. First of all--beat you to them, Gramps gave them to me for my birthday. Boo-YA! Secondly--everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY, in our family knows I called dibs on those when I was in Kindergarten.

I understand that I am in the unenviable position of having the ground upon which I tread worshipped incessantly, but enough is enough. I bless her with my presence on a semi-regular basis, what more does she need? Geez, there is only so much essence du Eibisch to go around. Quit Bogarting the Eibisch, Cousin#3!

Okay, so I jest. But, I swear--if I see her with electric blue streaks in her hair....heads will roll, people. Heads. Rolling. I�m just saying...

And, yes I did wash the blue out last week, but then I put stripes in again. I like it.


I�m...what?...4, 5 days into the vegetarian thing and it�s actually pretty cool. Nobody else has really noticed, although Mom remarked that the bologna was not going as quickly as usual but the peanut butter is! Hmm. I really thought I�d miss meat, but I don�t. Of course, it�s only been less than a week. I�m really going to feel it come family reunion time. Oy. The Swedish meatballs, the cold fried chicken, the deer sausage. I love deer sausage. And my uncle puts extra-sharp cheddar cheese chunks in it. It�s soooo gooooood. But I shall persevere! I�ll just have a...carrot. Or something.


Friday Five, posted on Saturday

1. What was the first band you saw in concert?
The Monkees. Yes, that�s right. �Daydream Believer� style! �Last Train to Clarksville�, baby! Yeah!

2. Who is your favorite artist/band now?
Say it with me...ELVIS PRESLEY!!! The king, baby, the KING!!

3. What's your favorite song?
Okay, for me, music exists on two levels--ELVIS and non Elvis. Even my not-so-favorite Elvis songs are in the ELVIS echelon and are, therefore, immensely preferred to any tune outside this realm. In the ELVIS stratosphere is �Don�t�. On the mere mortal plain of non Elvis is �At Last�--sung by Etta James.

4. If you could play any instrument, what would it be?
The piano. I can plink out some tunes, but I can�t really play. You want to hear �Sunshine Of Your Love� on piano, you come see me.

5. If you could meet any musical icon (past or present), who would it be and why?
Hmm...let me think...golly gee...maybe...could it be...yes...why it�s...
ELVIS PRESLEY!!!


Currently Reading:
Unnatural Death: Confessions of a Medical Examiner by Michael M. Baden

Listening To: Pinkerton by Weezer
...Maybe we could even get together, maybe you could break my heart next summer...
Perhaps I should question why I seem to identify with "Why Bother?" so much. Eh.



~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent