...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Saturday 8

February 01, 2003 ... 12:45 a.m.

Saturday 8

Eibisch: �I love a man with a Scottish accent.�
Pinball: �I was doing an Indian accent.�
Eibisch: �I know.�


Saturday-8
"I've seen sunny days that I thought would never end..."

What is the best memory you have of a day that was absolutely blistering cold? Include all the important stuff like when and where and how you ended up there and why and so forth.
I was a freshman and the day had started out rainy and then it had frozen. It warmed up, rained a bit on top of the ice, then cooled more. It started snowing but stopped. The streets were a mess. So the school dismissed early. My friends and I had to walk home, nearly 1.5 miles. It was so cold it was hard to breathe. Our nostrils would stick closed. We had to form a human chain to get up and down even slight hills. We ended up at Amy�s house, in front of the fireplace with lots of hot cocoa and marshmallows. Looking back, it sounds terrible, but it wasn�t. Maybe all the female bonding helped!

What is your best memory of a rainy day you have spent in your life? Same details.
It was actually a night. A stormy July night. I was out at Robin�s farm for a week and she had no air conditioning. One particularly hot, muggy day, her boyfriend went and picked up a horse tank and brought it back. A horse tank holds water for horses (go figure!). This one was metal, 3.5 feet deep and about 6 feet in diameter. We filled it up with ice cold well water. We lit the fire pit, but it really started raining. It wasn�t cooling off though, so we hopped in the horse tank while it was raining. And then the thunder and lightning started. It was a beautiful lightning show. We sat out there for hours which, in retrospect, may not have been the most intelligent thing to do. Watch a lightning storm while sitting in a metal tank full of water. Woo! Go me!

What is your best memory of a day where is was simply very sunny and extremely hot? Again, same details.
My sister had a very important softball tournament--she played right field. I was scheduled to work so I was going to miss it. I dropped her off and went home to shower. My boss called and, somehow, the chlorine levels at the pool where I worked had gone crazy so the pool was closed. I took a bath with baby oil. I went out to the school where the tourney was going on and the only open seating was on some aluminum bleachers. (See where this going? Aluminum, sunny, baby oil? Yeah.) After nearly four hours, it was blazingly hot. Top of the ninth. The score was 4-1. 2 outs, bases loaded. Bootsie�s up.
*Pitch. Swing. Whiff. Steee-rike 1.*
*Pitch. Swing. Whiff. Stee-rike 2.*
*Pitch. Swing. Crack*
Pop fly. Caught. Dropped! It was dropped! Two runners home. Runner on third, Bootsie on second. Score 4-3. Next batter hits a ground double and, as Bootsie crossed the plate, the score became 4-5. Bottom of the ninth. Runner on third, full count. *BAM* Pop fly to right field. Everything was moving in slow motion. I could see Bootsie and I knew she couldn�t see the ball. The sun was in her eyes and she whipped off her hat to see better but she was still blinded. She just stuck her arm out to the right, palm up. And I�ll be damned if the ball didn�t just drop in her glove. How cool is that? It was great. I had 3rd degree sunburn, but my sister had saved that game!

What is the weirdest weather you can remember experiencing anywhere? Where were you and what were you doing while experiencing the weather?
We were on our way to Phoenix for the NCAA men�s basketball Sweet 16 game between UIowa and UConn. We left a dry and reasonably warm Iowa in the middle of March. As we were driving through New Mexico, it began snowing. Horizontally. Maybe that�s not all that weird for New Mexico, but we had to go to the southeast to see snow. In March.

What is your favorite type of weather? Why do you like this weather? Do you think it is weird or do you know others who share your love for this type of weather?
I love sun and Summer. I also love the beginning of Autumn, when the leaves are changing, the air is a little crisp, it�s not cold enough to have the heat on but not warm enough to leave windows open and every weekend is football central. Does that make me weird? I�m sure there are others out there.

Just the opposite of question 5. What is your least favorite type of weather?
Cold, snow, cold, ice, cold, slush, cold, Winter, cold...did I metion cold?

What place you have been to or visited or know of very well has the ideal climate for you and is that a place you aspire to move to at any time in your life?
Say it with me everybody..........Honolulu!!!!!

What's the weather like outside right now?
Freezing temps, snow, hazy........ugh>



Currently Reading:
Corpse by Jessica Snyder-Sachs

Listening To: Plain White T�s



~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent