...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Because I Have Nothing Better To Do

September 10, 2002 ... 5:42 p.m.

Because I Have Nothing Better To Do

I was going to just make a post tomorrow, but then I thought "why not post two new posts and then, when you write your notify list like you forgot to do not once but twice, they'll have FOUR new posts to read."

Yeah. Because nobody has anything better to do.

Cripes.


Okay, so I've been kind of looking at going to UCLA. And then, yesterday, I read that Cyril Wecht might be doing guest teaching or a lecture series or something and he might do them at UCLA.

SCORE!!!!!!

The conversation in my head actually went:
OMG!!!!! CYRIL WECHT! I AM SO GOING TO UCLA! Cyril--freakin�--Wecht! Aaaaaaaa!!! I�m freaking out! I have all his books!

And then I realized......this is Cyril Wecht, not Elvis.

He would lecture on pathology and murders. You don't throw panties on stage when Dr. Wecht walks on. I mean, maybe test tubes or something.

I was going all teenybopper over the Allegheny County Coroner. A coroner!

That's just wrong, people. So, so wrong.

I need to get out more. Maybe I need to visit Apt 211 more. Maybe I need to get a real job. Maybe I need a new car. Maybe I need a pet snake named Bob Henry Jasper Joe Billy Dee Craig Clyde Bubba Blue the Fourth.

Oh man, I crack myself up! *wipes a tear* Hi, Wendy! ;)

Maybe I need less caffeine.


IHOP report---still not ready. It's almost Christmas, for crying out loud! Okay, not really, but whatever.

It�s not even hot anymore! Light a fire! Geez, how long do you expect me to attempt to make my own International Omelette?

I mean, really!


Last night I went to bed kinda early and was just dozing off when the phone rang. �Mom? Pick up...� It was Bootsie. Much noise as Mom got dressed. I asked what was wrong. Bootsie had locked her keys in her truck. �At work?� I groggily asked. No, my mom said, Moline. WHAT??? Moline is, like, an hour and a half away! It was 1am.

Eh. I just fell back asleep.

Suddenly, my mom was in my room, handing me the cat. I seem to recall she was only wearing undies. My radio was playing �Crimson and Clover� by Tommy James & the Shondells. And my clock read about an hour after she left for Moline. Damn, I thought, that was fast.

Eh. I just fell back asleep.

And then, maybe 15 minutes later, Mom woke me up asking if we had any salsa. She had the kind in the door. I advised her against my infamous �Death in a Bottle� salsa that I had used 15 habenero peppers in, because it was hot enough to eat a hole through her esophagus. But she said never mind--she found the El Paso.

So, I�m talking to her this morning.

~Bootsie had locked her keys in her truck. In Cedar Rapids. NOT Moline.
~Mom had �handed� me the cat. And by �handed� I really mean �unceremoniously dumped�. But she had been fully clothed, having just returned from the unlocking of my sister�s truck.
~My radio had not been playing and, even if it had, could not have been playing �Crimson and Clover� by Tommy James & the Shondells because it was tuned to a country music station. (Le Prince insists that this is the only station with good music. *bangs head on keyboard*)
~The salsa conversation never happened. Well, I mean, it did happen. Just in my head.

People, I don�t need drugs. My life is a freaky acid trip.


We watched Forrest Gump last night. I cried. What? I�m not a rock! I have feelings! It�s just...just...Bubba dies and then even though he�s all rich his mom dies and then Jenny comes back and they�re all �peas an� carrots� again and then she takes off and he goes running for 3 years and Jenny writes him and he finds out about little Forrest and how he�s all smart and cute and not all �I see dead people� yet and then Jenny and Forrest get married and Lt. Dan gets new legs and Jenny dies and Forrest is at her grave and talks and then he cries...

It�s SAD, I tell ya!

I cry at movies all the time. I am such a sap. It�s a curse. I don�t cry very often in real life, so it balances out. [insert your own �real life vs. reel life� joke] But since I felt like such a sap, I had to watch Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

The first three times I ever watched it, I had to rewind every third line because I was laughing so hard I didn�t know what was happening.

�I mean, if I went around sayin' I was an emperor just because some moistened bint had lobbed a scimitar at me they'd put me away."

�Go away or we shall taunt you a second time!�

�Explain again how sheeps' bladders may be employed to prevent earthquakes."

"And the Lord did grin, and people did feast upon the lambs, and sloths, and carp, and anchovies, and orangutans, and breakfast cereals, and fruit bats, and..."

That movie just makes me happy.

Yes, I do have it memorized. Your point?


Last night our new neighbors, Bluntman and Chronic, were in the empty lot behind our house. They live 3 houses away in the opposite direction. They were just drinking and grilling (which is a good smell) and, shortly before I went to bed, smoking that which they should not be smoking by law. Mm-hmm.

And, I suppose, you are wondering how I was familiar with that particular aroma.

Well, you can just keep on wondering!

No, I kid! Geez, I�m 25 and I hang...hung...hunged...hanged out with a lot of different people. That doesn�t really explain the casual usage of Bluntman and Chronic...but, whatever.

*sigh* It�s a movie...or several.



Oh, and check out my Friday Five and Saturday 8.


Currently Reading:
The Cases That Haunt Us by John Douglas and Mark Olshaker
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Listening To: Beach Boys Greatest Hits according to Eibisch.
Really, is there a better song than �In My Room�? Well, is there? No. No, there is not.



~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent