...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

I Must Get By Just On My Good Personality

August 14, 2002 ... 11:37 p.m.

I Must Get By Just On My Good Personality

So. My cousin with �the cute baby.� Who didn�t want another baby until �the cute baby� was �the cute kindergartner.� Pregnant.

Happy for her. Really. The cute baby will be 1 in October.

That�s the big news here. But I have one question. My grandma was talking about Cousin #1�s daughter--�the smart one� and now having two �cute ones.� Mom said she was going to run out of titles for her great-grandchildren. Grams looked at me and said �I�m sure yours will have good personalities.�

Okay.

Wait. What? What did that mean? Was that a thinly veiled way of saying my kids will be �the ugly ones?�

I swear...my kid could be spouting Shakespearean sonnets at birth, walking at two weeks and be a neurosurgeon at 6...and my grandparents would still be like �That�s nice. Oh, look at the cute one--she�s only 10 months old and can play peek-a-boo! Awww.�

But I jest.

Not really.


I am reading The Poisonwood Bible. This is the second time I�ve tried reading it. The first time I gave up. See it begins in the 50s, when a preacher/missionary takes his wife and four daughters to the Congo. Their trials, lessons and misconceptions are written by the four girls. Each one writes an alternating chapter. The mother writes one every so often. But each of the girls has a different writing style. One writes in palindromes--backwards and forwards and one writes as her age, five years old. Just when you get used to one style...new chapter!

I think this is the longest time I�ve ever spent reading a single book. I won�t let myself read anything else until this book is done. I�m determined to finish by Monday.


It�s a gorgeous night. It�s 70 degrees with a nice breeze. The window by the computer has been open all day. It�s so relaxing.

But soon I will venture to my bedroom to another all night face off with my mirror o� malice. Aside from this incident, there have been other bumps and many other near misses. My bed is against the mirror wall and, as I have mentioned, I�m a restless sleeper. Every night I bang into that mirror or, when I flip my pillows over for the �cool sides�, catch the mirror. Then I hold my breath and wait to see if I become a tabloid headline. �25-Year-Old Recluse Dies In Tragic Mirror Mishap� or �Mirror Sends Woman To Meet Her Maker

You would think I would just move my bed.

Because that would be the smart thing, wouldn�t it?

But you would be wrong.

Actually, I�m rearranging my room this weekend. I have to pack up a bunch of books so I can remove a bookshelf and give it to my sister. Because I am nice that way.

I could always give her the mirror.


Guess what? Guess who�s performing in eastern Iowa September 1? Guess!

No, not Weezer.

Dude. Why you gotta harsh my mellow?

No--it�s P. Diddy!

Can�t get a decent band within a half hour drive, but we can get P. Diddy! Of course, anybody can get P. Diddy. The tough part is getting him to leave! I jest. Kind of. Oh, and you know who else comes to CR and the vicinity a lot? Slipknot! But, really, are they a band? Or just a bunch of Ritalin-deprived circus freaks? Anyway...

Score!

Are you getting the sarcasm? I�m laying it on pretty thick.


Well. This entry was pretty lame. Here�s hoping something quasi-interesting happens in my life tomorrow!



Currently Reading: The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

Listening To: ELVIS: Artist of the Century Disc One.



~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent