...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

My day out

July 05, 2002 ... 10:36 p.m.

My day out

Well, I am finally back. Normally I would�ve written a few entries but...eh.

Last weekend, starting at 8 am on Saturday, we had a full house. They went home this morning but, we had 4 boys + Le Prince + Bootsie + Mom. The boys were 9-12. They were good kids--Dalton, Dakota, Denver and Damer (day-mer). We rented Max Keeble�s Big Move, Rush Hour 2, Black Hawk Down and The Mothman Prophecies. The kids watched the first two, the oldest boy, Dalton, watched Mothman with me. I didn�t care for the book, which was very self-serving and self-congratulatory and just...dull. The movie was even worse. Ugh. By the end, Dalton was like �huh?� and I was rooting for the �thing� to wipe out the whole town.

Mom is so relieved to have them gone. But I think the house seems empty. See, I seriously want 8 kids (5 boys, 3 girls--that order). So I had 5 boys for a week. I enjoyed it.


Tomorrow, Bootsie and I are going to our friend, Cari�s, wedding. Bootsie gives it less than three years. I�m saying 8 months...9 tops. I like Cari, but she�s getting married just to be married. She does like her hubby-to-be, he is the father of one of her kids BUT (and this is a big but) she wants to date his brother. Who is a minister. So it should be fun...details next time!


Went and saw Lilo & Stitch. I liked it. I loved the water-colored (non-CGI) backgrounds. And I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Hawaii. And, of course....Elvis. Need I say more?

No.

But I will.

I heard some bad reactions from some adoptive parents. I went into the theatre fully intending to critique any adoption related areas. I became to involved. Lilo always says �Ohana means family and family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten� and once that Stitch �was an orphan and we adopted him.� Which, I guess, could be a questionable adoption reference. But I got that it was saying that no matter what you look like, where you�re from or how you behave--you�re family and that�s that. Also, the social worker a little nod/wink to Men In Black. He was portrayed, initially, as a bad guy. Some adoptive parents weren�t thrilled with that, but I look at it from the 5 year-old Lilo�s perspective. She�s not going to understand what may be in her best interests, all she�s going to know is this guy is trying to bust up her family. It all turned out fine in the end as Disney movies do. It was violent, but most (if not all) was done in a humorous fashion. And every Disney movie I�ve ever seen has violence--but kids tend to remember the story.

Did I mention the movie has Elvis in it?

Elvis is STILL The King, baby!


I got $5.20 from a class action lawsuit against a credit card today. I don�t even know what the suit was about but--hey--money is money.

~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent