...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

Monday

July 19, 2004 ... 4:25 p.m.

[watching Food Network]
*Bobby Flay*: �Anywhere there�s meat and fire--we�ll be there!�
Bootsie: �Kill the grill! For the love of God--turn it off!�


Went to a DVD warehouse type store--new, unused, cheap DVDs. I got Bootsie a couple--her birthday is August 10. I also got Harry Potter & the Sorceror�s Stone, Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets, LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring, LOTR: The Two Towers, Signs (Joaquin!), The Others and Mystery Science Theatre 3000: The Movie.

I will not rest until I have all MST3K episodes in my possession. I have ... um ... about half of Joel�s episodes on tapes I recorded off late night tv. I am crazy about MST3K, although I�m not a purist. I like Joel best but I like Mike, too. I liked Dr. F and Frank much much much better than their replacements. But I wasn�t burning Pearl, Bobo and Brain Guy in effigy. I loved all the �Hercules� episodes, but my favorite is Mitchell That was the first one I saw, Joel�s last episode and it was an Eibisch-giggle-fest almost on par with Monty Python & the Holy Grail. Wocka chicka wocka chicka ... MITCHELL!

Good stuff, good stuff.

And since most of you have no idea what I�m talking about, I�ll just stop now.


It was supposed to storm all day, so we didn�t take the cover off the pool. It�s been clear, hot and sunny all day. Perfect pool weather. Alas, I am alone and can�t get the cover off by myself. We have a good sized pool--18 x 35, I think.

I added a photo of it in the photo section. Pay no attention to our lawn--the people who owned this house before were not �outdoor people�.

Storms all day, my toe. Right now? We�re under a �Severe Storm Watch�. It�s 82�. And sunny. Not a cloud in the sky.

Weathermen lie. And I may be forced to add them, collectively, to my Enemy For Life list.

Stupid weathermen.


I�ve kind of started to rekindle a high school friendship. Don�t know how it�s going to work out, if it works out.


I shall leave you with a Saturday 8 on a Monday.

Saturday-8

1. When was the last vacation you had ... and I mean truly leaving your home, and not just taking a few days off of work?
December 2000--we spent the 10 days after Christmas and over the New Year in Honolulu.

2. When you were younger, did you take vacations as a child with your family/extended family?
Mom, Bootsie and I took a vacation once a year.

3. Tell us about your best/favourite vacation ever. what made it so special, who were you with, where did you go?
The three of us went to Hawaii--it was absolutely gorgeous. I got to see Pearl Harbor--and you can still see bullet strafing on some of the walkways which, for a History buff like me, was amazing. We went in a package deal, because the U if I Men�s Basketball team was playing in the �Outrigger Waikiki Rainbow Classic� Tournament. We stayed on, I mean directly on, Waikiki Beach. I put a photo up in the photo section. This year the basketball team is going to the Maui Invitational Tournament and so are we. Ha ha--Louisville is SO going to kick our asses, especially after last year (and, look, there�s the jailbait that looks like a shorter Oscar). Which sent them into an abysmal tailspin. And which I totally called.

4. Tell us about your WORST vacation ever. What made it horrible?
That would be Montego Bay, Jamaica. First, it rained every morning. Nothing was ever open on time. We took a hotel shuttle to go shopping and it never picked us up and all the taxis had quit for the night and we walked almost 3 miles towards our hotel before a different hotel�s van picked us up/ I got sunburned so badly that my eyes swelled shut for two days. We did have a nice view--photo section.

5. Who is your favourite person to go on vacation with?
I�ve only ever gone with my mom and sister.

6. If you could have 2 weeks in ANY locale, no expenses spared, free of charge, tell us about your dream vacation... where? What time of year? With whom? What would you eat? Why would you go there?
Normally, I would say Hawaii but I REALLY want to go to New York. I want to see The Met, Broadway, The Cloisters, the Bronx Zoo, etc. I desperately want to see Phantom of the Opera on stage. I want to see what the big deal about Gray�s Papaya dogs are, what�s so great about New York pizza, >Tavern on the Green, etc. I always wanted to see The Russian Tea Room, but it�s now closed. I�d like to go close to Christmas and see all the displays and everything that every movie has ever romanticized about New York. I�d like to go with my significant other. Or Jade Puget. But, you know, whatever--Mom and Bootsie would do.

7. How long have you gone without an actual vacation?
I don�t really work, but the last time I stepped foot out of Iowa (not counting jaunts to Chicago) was January 3, 2001--the last day in Honolulu.

8. If you leave on vacation, who usually watches your home/apartment/pets/plants/mail for you?
My grandparents--which Tinker loves because my grandma thinks he�s too skinny and always overfeeds him.



Currently Reading: Great Feuds in History by Colin Evans

Listening To: M*A*S*H
...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent