...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

There's No Place Like Home

November 24, 2003 ... 6:36 p.m.


No, I haven�t forgotten to update. I haven�t been able to. I have been in the hospital since the 15th.

Bootsie told me I was a wee bit jaundiced before I went to my doc for my ear infection, but I thought she was just teasing. She wasn�t. In the following week, I became seriously jaundiced and exhausted. I wasn�t keeping anything down--not even water!

On the advice of my doc, I went to a local ER and got all kinds of bloodwork done.

The doctors first thoughts were that I was having a rare-but-documented side effect called a Toxic Injury from Zithromax. That didn�t seem to pan out.

I was going into liver failure. At one point, my billirubin count was 21.8. In a healthy person, 1 is considered �high�. 30 is the point of brain damage.

On the 19th, I started to get test results back. I didn�t have this, this, this or that. What was wrong, they had no clue.

On the 20th, I underwent a liver biopsy. Those samples were sent to the U of Iowa�s liver disease guru. He didn�t know what was wrong. He thought it might be a toxic injury from Zithromax or it could be an Auto-Immune disease, where my body just turned on my liver. I showed signs of both. It was decided that I would be put on the steroid Prednisone. If it was Auto-Immune, I should show immediate improvement. If it was toxic injury, the Prednisone shouldn�t have much effect. I showed immediate, drastic improvement.

What that means is that I have an Auto-Immune Liver Disease. It will take another month of testing to find out exactly which Auto-Immune disease it is. This is a chronic condition. I will have it the rest of my life. There may be occasional flare-ups, there may never be another incident. It is something I need to watch. IF my kind flares up a lot, for no apparent reasons, I may need a transplant. At some point in the future. For now, I�m taking the Prednisone for a month and something called Urso for 2 weeks.

I feel pretty good now. The only weird thing is that I absolutely cannot stand Mountain Dew anymore. Go figure.

I kept a diary while I was hospitalized and I�ll type it up and post it in the near future.

Oh... and I�m not contagious or anything. So, if I send you a Christmas card, you don�t need to steam it.

Also, my doctor told me I shouldn�t get pregnant in the next 3 months, to allow my liver to heal.

Aw, nuts. Now I have to rearrange all my New Year�s Eve plans.

[eta: Months later, it turned out that it WAS a toxic injury]


Currently Reading:

Listening To: ELVIS...I guess I�ll never know the reason why you love me as you do...



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent