...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

For Pasat, I Do Believe

September 05, 2003 ... 1:17 p.m.

Susie!(chem teacher): �You know...there are such things as stupid questions."


So Saturday. I set my alarm for 5:27 am--I couldn�t be bothered to turn on a light and actually see the buttons and I figured it was good enough--and it really went off. I dozed in bed for 30 minutes or so, until the radio started playing �Come On Over� by the Plain White T�s and then I woke up.

Y�all, when you start having dreams with relatively unknown background music--it�s time to listen to something else.

I got up, showered and got dressed. Black jeans, Hawkeye t-shirt, football sweatshirt--it was 6:30 and cold! I did my hair pretty cool. Mostly just a basic ponytail, but I had 8 little braids that I dyed (temporarily) yellow and pulled them into the ponytail. The rast of my hair was natural/black, so I had 8 evenly spaced yellow stripes/braids circling my head. Right? Then I undid the braids, so that I still had the eight sections, still braided, secured with the ponytail�s band but the rest was loose. I also wrapped a couple of yellow sections around the ponytail band.

Yeah, I looked really cute, but I can�t believe I just spent that much time writing about my hair.

Anyway, Ernie picked me up at about 7 am. He brought doughnuts for the 30 minute trip to Iowa City. Yay! Doughnuts! We listened to Rooney all the way down there. I didn�t particularly care for Rooney before, but now I feel some slight affection towards them. I think they may incorporate hypnotic/subliminal messages in their songs because I cannot get their songs out of my head.

And let me add...full-size Ford F-150�s and 5-3 chicks with bum knees? Not such a good combo. It was a daunting task. I was looking for footholds and small ledges upon which to rest momentarily in my quest to reach the upholstered summit.

There were already TONS of people in the various parking lots used by tailgaters. We got there before 8 and there were already drunk people stumbling about and grilling kielbasa.

And another thing...tofu hot dogs after smelling grilled sausages all morning? Not so good. Do I really care about pigs that much?

We started un packing the truck and, about 15 minutes later, a familiar looking red van pulled into the lot. It was Cousin#1 and Ivy. Joy. And a couple of Cousin#1�s cousins and various members of Ivy�s clan. Double joy. We made like we hadn�t seen each other in years and Ernie kind of hung back after I introduced him. But then Cousin#1 started in with his �I have better seats than you� crap and Ivy had me cornered. Ernie was calmly saying �Wow. Those are good seats.� over and over. Cousin#1 just wouldn�t let it go and, in the midst of crowing about his seats, demanded to know where we were sitting. Ernie tried to beg off politely. No dice. Finally, Ernie told him our seats. 50 yard line and 20 rows closer to the field. HA! That shut my cousin up. Briefly. I felt an evil sense of --I don�t know--righteousness(?). I didn�t care if we were in the nosebleeds or on the bench, but why did my cousin need to belittle this guy? Ernie was nothing but nice to him. So harp about your tickets, cuz, does that make you better than us? Nope. Because we got better seats. Also, I looked impossibly cute.

So, the game. First set of downs, our offense looked really sloppy. Re-hee-heeelly sloppy. Then our first time on defense, we let Miami (OH) score. A field goal, but still. Last season, nothing--nothing--got through our defense. Apparently, UIowa just needed a little time to shake the opening day jitters because we kicked their butts. 21-3.

The announcers, ESPN analysts all said Miami (OH) was gonna make us eat turf.

Hi, there. Welcome to Kinnick. You don�t win here.

After scaling the F-150, it took 28 minutes to get on the interstate with all the fans leaving. We arrived in good ol� Cedar Rapids without incident.


Tonight (I swear, this has been typed up all week), we�re renting LOTR: The Two Towers and vegging. Tomorrow, we go to the football game.


And, again, last night I dreamt I was on a bus--I dunno, either--and a car commercial was on a tv in the bus and the commercial was playing The Stereo�s cover of �El Scorcho.� I remember, as my dream self, wondering why they didn�t use the original Weezer version as it was much more fitting.

I am such a dork.


Currently Reading: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Listening To: =w=
...I�m a lot like you so please, hello, I�m here, I�m waiting...
Hee!



Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent