...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

It's All About Culture...

October 15, 2002 ... 10:26 p.m.

It�s All About Culture...

Yeah. I think I'm done with the FAQ thing. I keep getting similar questions. As for doing it in the first place...what can I say? I was bored. I wish I had an interesting life. But I don't. I suppose I should just deal with that. But I don't want to.


I went to Miss Saigon on Sunday. Bootsie and I had great seats. Once we got in them. As we were leaving, Bootsie was in a snit over something. I asked �Do you have the tickets?� She said she did and to just get in the &^$@#!% truck. Alrighty then! We drive the 30 minutes to Hancher. She complains because we�re in Iowa City an hour early. So I buy her an early dinner. Whine, whine, whine. About whatever she feels like whining about. When we park at Hancher, she looks in her purse. No tickets. Forgot them. 45 minutes to show time. Had to have Mom drive out with the tickets. Arrgh.

~*~

It was a wonderful performance. The role of �Kim� was a substitution, but you couldn�t have told--she was amazing. The Engineer is fantastic--he steals the show. I�ve had the soundtrack for years and it was hard not to sing along.

Bootsie asked me how it ended before we left, because she hates surprises. I only told her it was an updated (and English) version of Madama Butterfly. She said okay, and I assumed she knew what would happen.

**spoiler alert**

At the end, when Kim kills herself, Bootsie turned to glare at me. And she yelled at me for not telling her what happened. First, I had never actually seen Miss Saigon. Second, I SAID it was a version of Madama Butterfly What did she want? Did I have to spell it out for her?

Apparently, yes. I had forgotten that, while I had seen Madama Butterfly, Bootsie avoids all things cultural andor intellectual like the plague.

Anyway, it was very good. More fun than Madama Butterfly, but not as emotional. I sobbed at Madama Butterfly. Sobbed! I got teary at Miss Saigon. Maybe it�s the whole opera thing. I love opera and it seems to affect me on a deeper level.

~*~

After the show, we go stuck in traffic. Bootsie kept flipping through the radio channels to find something �good.� Mm-hmm. It went a little something like this:

Flips to oldies station...�How Deep Is Your Love?�...4 seconds
Flips to country station...advertisement...10 seconds
Flips to other country station...out of range...2 seconds
Flips to pop station...�Somewhere Out There� (Our Lady Peace)...1.7 seconds
Flips to other pop station...advertisement...5 seconds
Flips back to country station...Nascar Racing...23 minutes

That�s right. I was sitting in traffic. Listening to Nascar for 23 minutes. Nascar. 23. Minutes. Ricky Rudd crashed on lap 221, bringing on the fourth yellow caution flag of the race. Gah. I just realized what I wrote. I know way, way, WAY to much--especially considering I dislike all things Nascar.

Anyway, I took that time to ask Bootsie when she had developed such fondness four car races. On the radio. She said she was waiting for something good to come on the other stations. And she began to flip. Again. She finally settled on a pop station playing Alien Ant Farm�s �Smooth Criminal.� Okay, not bad.
Then they played--I kid you not--Aaron Carter�s �I Want Candy.�
Then--I still kid you not--Britney Spears� �I�m Not A Girl...�
Then--still not kidding--Nick Carter singing whatever solo crap he was singing.
Then--people, I couldn�t make this playlist up--Justin Timberlake�s solo pseudo Michael Jackson shtick.
I almost threw myself out of the truck when the began to play that Avril chick�s �Sk8er Boi.�


Mom finally turned the heat on this morning, because it was around 30 degrees when she woke up. Never mind that I have been swaddling myself in a flannel blanket every minute I�m awake. Never mind that I finally broke down and brought out my immense collection of sweatshirts. Never mind that I have been forced to wear my Tigger (ack) slipper socks on more than one occasion this week. Oh, no. Mom gets chilled...stoke the fires!

Of course, I do get cold easily. But still. Show some compassion! My teeth were chattering yesterday when I made breakfast! Whatever.


I made my famous spaghetti tonight. That�s really all I have to say. My spaghetti is amazing. Drool inducing.



Currently Reading:
The Memoirs of Cleopatra by Margaret George (almost done!)
Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss

Listening To: Bee Gees: One Night Only



~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent