...Before you know it, you�re the crazy cat lady in the scary house...

In hindsight, Splash Mountain may have been the better choice.

April 26, 2002 ... 12:21 a.m.

In hindsight, Splash Mountain may have been the better choice.

My sister is an �Events Coordinator,� specializing in wedding planning. As a result, she gets a lot of wedding related freebies and samples. Things like computer software, mints, etc.

Today she got a package from Disney�s Destination Weddings. With all the fun ways to get married at Disney World, like a safari wedding or an �enchanted� Cinderella wedding, complete with glass carriage.

And, of course, we read everything and watched the accompanying videos.

Gee, thanks, Walt, I so need this fairytale-wedding-someday-my-Prince-Charming-will-come crap right now.

And please see my previous commentary on your precious little Cinderella.


And did you see tonight�s C.S.I.? This old lady gets murdered and her 20 cats start chowing on her. And Gil starts rhapsodizing about how old people start becoming recluses slowly and *poof*--before you know it �you�re the crazy cat lady in the run down house."

Dudes, that is so gonna be me!

Except that my cats would turn on me. No human intervention needed, thank you.

Seriously, look at my track record. Two cats, one of whom spends every moment figuring out how to kill me and still get his Whiskas, and the other one tried to scratch my eyes out and remove my brains through my nose.

My God, I AM the Crazy Cat Lady!!

What was I writing about?

Oh, yeah--Disney.


I love me some Disney World. And the other theme parks. Epcot is my beyond-a-doubt favorite.

Anyway, I went with my high school band one year. I was on drumline and, since we had a different practice and performance schedule than the rest of the band, we had to stay together. That meant 27 kids arguing over what rides to ride. We finally decided that each person got to pick a ride and the other 26, like it or not, had to go along. My turn came and I picked the �It�s A Small World� ride. I LOVE the �It�s A Small World� ride.

Dork-o-meter says.......10!

The ride consists of sitting in a boat going through rooms/sections of ethnic dolls in ethnic dress singing �It�s A Small World� in whatever language the dolls are representing.

Anyway, a 15 minute line wait and several thinly veiled death threats later, 27 drummers were cheerfully bopping along to the catchy tune.

And by �cheerfully bopping,� I actually mean �tolerating with great and unconcealed hostility.�

When, suddenly, the boats came to a grinding halt.

Five minutes passed.

We were all on edge in the dark, surrounded by dolls in garish costumes singing merrily along, ready to go all Chucky on us at any minute.

One minute passed.

And we realized that we had broken down in the Chinese section. And you thought �It�s A Small World� was annoying in English?

Of course, it could�ve been the French section. If that had been the case, we might have been driven to cannibalism.

A total of 23 minutes passed.

Just as the other drummers decided to kill me and sacrifice me to the Gods of Disney and I decided to jump and swim for it, the ride started up again.

I didn�t get to choose any other rides, though.


I�ve got a million of these stories. Someday, I�ll tell you about my adventures with Splash Mountain and the Hillbilly or Eibisch in the Land of Imagination or how rain and merry-go-rounds in Busch Gardens don�t mix or....

What?? I said I had a million of them! And that�s just ONE trip!

Yeah, maybe I�ll do a Thursday Disney theme entry for a couple of weeks. Hmmm...I�ll ponder that.



For anyone who may have seen it...

I had an entry up last night. My great uncle, my Uncle George was diagnosed with liver cancer. The doctors give him somewhere between 1 and 6 months, depending on treatment.

Last night�s post was raw and angry and full of hurt. And because I re-read my entries, from time to time, I never wanted to read that again . I just didn�t want it there. There�s this line in the song Smile, the goes �Smile, though your heart is aching. Smile, even though it�s breaking.�

That�s what I am going to do. That�s what I am going to try to do, anyway.

~*~

Have a happy day!

7 ... 8
This �n� That

present
past
who�s who
*RANDOM*
profile

Contact

email
send me a note
sign the book

Get Notified

Daily Reads

Weetabix
Chauffi
Chubbychic
TheCritic
Meeshapeesha
Trancejen
Genghis-Jon
Quoted
Twelvebeer

Lee
Life Is But A Dream
Landslide
Diary Quotes

DLand

Previously...

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Insanity

It's Snowing

Homicidal Tendencies And All

Let The Healing Begin!

Perfectly Crapulent ... er .... Cromulent